Only One Telugu actor in Forbes List

The Forbes Magazine listed 25 Great Acting Performances of Indian Cinema. Unexpectedly, only one Telugu actor found a place in best list and the superior person is none other than JV Somayaajulu garu for the landmark movie 'Sankarabharanam.

G V Somayajulu, an IAS officer in his 50s, plays a Carnatic instrumentalist who was taken the wrong way by the society for supporting the daughter of a prostitute at times when pop music has leave behind classical music. He played his part with such self-respect and power that you can't listen to any of its enormously popular songs without visualisation him performing them as his Sadhana.

K Viswanath’s Sankarabharanam opened to empty seats, became a super hit with fantastic mouth talk and now enjoys a trendy status.

Forbes Whole List:


HINDI: Dilip Kumar (Devdas, 1955); Nutan (Bandini, 1963); Utpal Dutt (Bhuvan, 1969); Balraj Sahni (Garam Hawa, 1974); Amjad Khan (Sholay, 1975); Amitabh Bachchan (Deewar, 1975); Naseeruddin Shah (Sparsh, 1980); Rekha (Umrao Jaan, 1981); Sanjeev Kumar (Angoor, 1982); Smita Patil (Mirch Masala, 1987)

 TELUGU: Somayajulu (Sankarabharanam, 1980).

KANNADA: Dr Rajkumar (Bangaaradha Manushya, 1972).

 MALAYALAM: Mammooty (Mathilukal, 1989); Mohanlal (Bharatham, 1991).

TAMIL: Sivaji Ganesan (Parasakthi, 1952); Rajinikanth (Thillu Mullu, 1981); Revathi (Mouna Ragam, 1986), Kamal Haasan (Mahanadi, 1994).

 BENGALI: Supriya Choudhury (Meghe Dhaka Tara, 1960); Soumitra Chatterjee, 1961); Chhabi Biswas (Jalsaghar, 1958); Uttam Kumar (Nayak, 1966); Ananya Chatterjee (Abohomaan, 2010).

 MARATHI: Upendra Limaye (Jogwa, 2009); Nilu Phule (Samna, 1975).

Views: 166
Disclaimer : All images and text copyright to their owners and used under the fair use copyright law, section 107. All images and text are thought to be public domain and found through various free sources on the internet and publications. Please contact us at with any legal problems and we’ll be happy to remove any thing in breach
Advertise With Us
© 2012 - 2017